7th Delta Assembly: Oborevwori Made History, Recounts Achievements 

A valedictory session of the 7th Delta State House of Assembly has been held at the Hallowed Chamber of the State Legislature in Asaba.

Correspondent reports that emotions, eulogies and praises enveloped the over three hours session as the Speaker, Rt Hon Sheriff Oborevwori who had presided over the House for the past six years bowed out.

The 7th Delta State House of Assembly was inaugurated on the 10th of June 2019, with Sheriff Oborevwori emerging as the Speaker, Ochor Christopher Ochor as Deputy Speaker of the Assembly.

Four years after, the Speaker, Sheriff Oborevwori, said the Assembly under his watch, had maintained its status as the most vibrant House of Assembly in the country given its robust legislative ingenuity.

Oborevwori, now Governor elect, disclosed that the seventh Assembly within the past four years, received and processed 69 Bills, adding that 60 out of the number were passed.

The Speaker added that 58 out of the total number of bills passed have been assented to by the State Governor, Dr Ifeanyi Okowa,

While saying that Nine of the bills were dropped, Oborevwori further stated that One is awaiting assent, just as another is pending at the Committee of the Whole, while nine were dropped.

Forty-Eight of the Bills, the Speaker said, were Executive Bills while 21 were Private Members Bills, adding that within the period under review, the House received and processed 237 Motions leading to Resolutions of the House.

Describing the legislative journey as a successful one, the Speaker, however, said that the House was saddened by the loss of two of its Members, Hon. Tim Kome Owhefere and Hon. Kenneth Edafe Ogba.

Oborevwori explained that one fascinating feat achieved by the Seventh Assembly was its cordial working relationship with the Executive in the implementation of Government policies and programmes.

He disclosed that the Seventh Assembly appropriated funds for the implementation of the Youth Agricultural Entrepreneurs Programme, Skills Training and Entrepreneurship Programme, Graduates’ Employment Enhancement Programme, Information and Communication Technology Youth Empowerment Programme and many others.

Oborevwori said over fifteen thousand Deltans and residents have become self employed and employers of labour through the schemes.

All the members representing the various constituencies expect three, Friday Osanebi, Ndokwa East, Eric Oharisi, Ughelli North 2 and Ehriateke Ibori-Suenu, Ethiope West were present at the valedictory session.

In their individual accounts, the lawmakers expressed mixed feelings as they exit the 7th Assembly, saying that the stability and unity of purpose that prevailed through out the session were worthy of note.

The Deputy Speaker, Ochor Ochor, said the House succeeded in many fronts, noting that the valedictory plenary was a session of testimonies of success.

The Majority Leader, Ferguson Onwo, Minority leader, Innocent Anidi, Chief Whip, Pat Ajudua, Deputy Majority Leader, Oboro Preyor, Deputy Chief Whip, Solomon Ighrakpata, Majority Whip, Festus Okoh and Deputy Majority Whip, Fred Martins, said they had exiting times in the legislature, even as they commended the welfare posture of the Speaker and support for members.

From Hon Emeka Nwaobi, Aniocha North, to Austin Chikezie, Aniocha South, Asupa Fortata, Burutu one, Ebifade Pullah, Burutu two, Anthony Elekeokwuri, Ika North East, Jude Ogbimi, Isoko North, Evuakporie Evivie, IsokoSouth one, Charles Emetulu, Ndokwa West and Shedrack Rapu, Oshimili South, it was tales of good memories and commendation for cordial working relationship in the Assembly.

Others including Hon Emmanuel Sinebe, Patani, Felix Anirah, Sapele, Peter Uviejitobor, Udu, Charles Oniyere, Ughelli North one, Reuben Izeze, Ughelli South, Austin Uroye, Warri South one, Kpoko Opuaro, Warri South two and Emomotimi Guwor, Warri South West, the memories of the 7th Assembly would remain evergreen, even as they expressed gratitude to God for being a part of the historic session.

The legislators thanked their constituents for the opportunity by electing them into the state legislature, saying that it was a worthwhile experience.

Previous articleTen Months After, Mariere Presents Score Card In Water Resources Development Ministry. ***Attributes Success Story To Okowa’s Vision And Support.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here