Delta Assembly Completes Screening Of Commissioners Nominees

Delta State House of Assembly on Wednesday screened the last batch of eight nominees whose names were forwarded to it by the State Governor, Elder Sheriff Oborevwori for appointment as Commissioners and members of the State Executive Council.

Assembly Correspondent reports that the Speaker, Rt Hon Emomotimi Guwor, who presided over the screening exercise, again commended members for living up to the constitutional responsibility of the House.

Those for the last batch of the screening exercise were Jerry Ehiwario from Ika South, Dr Kingsley Ashibuogwu, Ndokwa East, Darlington Ijeh, Oshimili South, and Emamusi Obiodeh, IsokoSouth.

Others include Perez Omoun, Patani, Agabateyimiro Isaac Weyinmi, Warri South, Etagherure Ejiro Terry, Ethiope West and Jamani Tommy Ejiro, Sapele local government area.

The nominees were asked to introduced themselves, local government of origin and their representatives in the Assembly.

They were later presented for screening by the members representing their various constituencies in the State Legislature

The appointments were confirmed following separate motions to that effect by the Majority Leader, Hon Emeka Nwaobi, and adopted.

Speaker, Emomotimi Guwor, while commending members for their show of responsibility, said the House has once again shown its resolve for diligent and dedication to duty.

The Speaker congratulated the state governor, Elder Sheriff Oborevwori for appointing a total of twenty six Deltans to serve in the State Executive Council in line with provisions of the constitution of Federal Republic of Nigeria.

He charged the Commissioner designates to help drive the MORE agenda of the state government and ensure it succeeds in delivering of dividends of democracy to the people.

Also at plenary the House gave approval to a request for the development of 2.5 Mega watts Independent Power Plant, IPP, at Owa-Alero in Ika North East Local Government Area.

The letter conveying Governor Sheriff Oborevwori request to that effect was read at plenary by the Speaker, Emomotimi Guwor.

Speaking on the merits of the request, the Majority Leader, Hon Emeka Nwaobi, said the IPP project would enhance productivity in the locality.

He noted that the IPP was as also meant to generate electricity that would power some critical Government institutions and establishments in the area and would ensure that no power generated is wasted.

In two other separate letters to the House, the Governor sought the approval of members for the Reconstitution of the governing board of the Delta State Local Government Service Commission and the Delta State Independent Electoral Commission, DSIEC.

The Delta State Local Government Service Commission has Mr Joseph Otirue as chairman, while Anslem Nwokenye, Dame Minnie Igbrude, and Philomena Ededey would serve as 1st, 2nd and 3rd Members respectively.

For Delta State Independent Electoral Commission, Mr Jerry Agbaike, was named as chairman, with James Umukoro, Friday Edmund Seimode, Light Diden, Imasua Azogbulem, Chris Onwuma and Frank Oru as members.

The Speaker directed the nominees to submit 35 copies of their Curriculum Vitae to the office of the Clerk on or before Monday September 4 and appear for screening on Tuesday September 5 2023.

The House then ajorned sitting for a month recess.

Previous articleProf Ugwumba Celebrates Omo-Agege At 60, Says He Remains A Dependable Boss, Leader
Next articleCongratulations To Festus Keyamo, A Brave Voice For Buhari, Tinubu – Latimore


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here