Budget Defense: Emetulu Charges MDAs Under Education Sector To Perform Better In 2023

Delta State House of Assembly Committee on Education, Wednesday concluded the scrutining of the proposed 2023 budget estimates of Ministries, Departments and Agencies, MDAs under it oversight.

Chairman of the Committee, Charles Emetulu who presided over the sessions, said the Education sector in the state was having its fair share in the development strides of the state government.

Appearing before the State Assembly Committee on Education were officials of the ministries of Higher Education, Secondary Education, Basic Education and Technical Education as well as Delta State Bursary and Scholarship Board.


Others were Institution of Continuing Education, State Library Board, Delta State Technical and Vocational Board, Post Primary Education Board, State Universal Basic Education and Adult and Non-formal Education Board.

Most of the MDAs were led to the budget defense seasons by the Chief Executives of the establishments, while some were represented by the most senior officers.

Chairman of the Committee, Charles Emetulu said development activities going on in the four state owned universities were enormous and commended the Okowa’s led administration for its efforts in that regards.

Hon Emetulu also highlighted government’s commitment in the Technical and Vocational education in the state, saying that the particular interest in the sub sector was to address the unemployment rate amongst the younger generation.

The Lawmaker who represents Ndokwa West in the House, described this year’s budget defense session as better than the last year exercise as the MDAs had presented to the committee the required documents needed for the legislative processes before their public appearances.

Hon Emetulu pledged the resolve of the committee to sustain partnership with all other critical stakeholders to ensure greater infrastructural development and academic excellence in the state’s education sector.

He also urged the various heads of the MDAs to ensure that they perform better in the year ahead.

Other members of the committee were Hon Oboro Preyor, Reuben Izeze, Peter Uviejitobor, Austin Uroye, Emmanuel Sinebe, Austin Chikezie and Evuakporie Evivie, while D.S Olorogun is the Clerk of the Committee.

Previous articlePreyor Promises Legislative Backing To 2023 Budget Proposals Of Ministry Of Urban Development.
Next article2022 National Sports Festival: Lawmaker Charges Sports Commission To Ensure Victory For Delta State.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here