Meet Principal Officers Of Delta 8th Assembly

Principal Officers have emerged for the 8th Delta State House Assembly, with the member representing Aniocha North Constituency, Hon Emeka Nwaobi as Majority Leader and the member representing Uvwie Constituency, Hon Edafe Emakpor as Minority Leader.

There nominations were contained in two separate letters forwarded to the House by the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP and All Progressive Party, APC respectively and read at plenary by the Speaker, Rt Hon Emomotimi Guwor.

Our correspondent reports that the Tuesday’s plenary was the first session of the 8th Assembly.

The letter from the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, named, Hon Perkins Umukoro, representing Sapele Constituency as Chief Whip, Festus Okoh, Ika South, Deputy Majority Leader, Fred Martins, Warri North, Deputy Chief Whip, Bernard Odior, Isoko North, Majority Whip, and Prince Emeka Samuta, Ndokwa East, as Deputy Majority Whip.

While the All Progressive Party, APC letter also nominated the member representing Burutu One Constituency, Anthony Alapala as Minority Whip.

The Speaker, Rt Hon Emomotimi Guwor, who read the letters congratulated the Majority Leader and all the other principal officers for so be recognized by their political parties.

In his remarks, Hon Emeka Nwaobi expressed thanks to God for emergency as the Majority Leader of the 8th Assembly and appreciated the PDP, the people of Aniocha North, and others who played major roles at ensuring his re-election to the state legislature.

Hon Nwaobi who called for support from members to the leadership of the Assembly, said collectively the House will maintain its leading position in legislative business in the comity of States Houses of Assembly in the country.

He pledged totally loyalty to the Speaker, the leader of the party in the state and Governor, Rt Hon Sheriff Oborevwori amongst others.

The Minority Leader, Hon Edafe Emakpor, spoke in same vein and thanked his party, the APC for the nomination.

Previous articleDelta Assembly Speaker Guwor Says 8th Assembly Will Prioritize Security And Welfare Of Deltans.
Next articleDelta Assembly Grants LGAs N40b Loan 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here